SDU eScience Center

The SDU eScience Center was established in 2013 at the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science (IMADA) of the Faculty of Science.

In 2017, the Center was restructured to become a cross-faculty research-based organization that has the ownership of the common research infrastructure for eScience, provides user support across the faculties and develops future e-infrastructures and services.

Mission: To digitally enhance research across all fields through the efficient utilization of data, software and e-Infrastructure.

The eScience Center of the University of Southern Denmark (SDU) provides the management, administration, and technical support to keep the national HPC running in a way that maximises the research output of the ABACUS 2.0 supercomputer.

The SDU eScience Steering Committee is the steering body for the Center. It is an internal SDU board that operates under the mandate from the SDU executive board which the chairman of the Committee reports to.


Center Director: Prof. Claudio Pica 
Center Administrator: Wendy Engelberts 
Chair Cloud technologies: Assoc.Prof. Fabrizio Montesi 
Chair eHumanities: Assoc. Prof. Professor Kristoffer Laigaard Nielbo  

SDU eScience steering committee members

Research Infrastructure Support and Development

  • Erik B. Madsen (HPC system)
  • Martin Rasmus Lundquist Hansen (HPC support)
  • Henrik Schulz (HPC support)
  • Bjørn Høj Jakobsen (cloud services)
  • Dan Sebastian Thrane (cloud services)
  • Na Liu (scientific software developer)
  • Jonas Malte Hinchley (scientific software developer)